Committee Members

Co – Chairs’: –

Dr Wasim Baqir

Pharmacy Integration Fund

Wasim Baqir is a senior pharmacist from the Pharmacy Integration Programme at NHS England. Prior to this he led the national Medicines Optimisation in Care Homes scheme for NHS England. He currently works across a number of areas (primary care networks, health inequalities, community pharmacy, overprescribing and integrated care systems) supporting the national pharmacy integration programme.

He has a clinical role as lead pharmacist at Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust where he supports pharmacy teams, working collaboratively with doctors, nurses, social care and other professionals to develop and test services for patients across Northumberland and North Tyneside. Before this, he was the R&D and quality improvement pharmacist, leading on several projects including Shine: optimising medicines in care homes.

He has a passion for personalised care and shared decision-making; especially in complex situations like care homes and frail elderly.  Wasim is a member the Health Foundation’s Q Network and co-chairs the multidisciplinary medicines research group, PRIMM (Prescribing Research in Medicines Management).

Northumbria Healthcare

Ms Sam Sherrington 

Head of Community Nursing, NHS England

Sam is a Registered Nurse, qualified Specialist Practitioner in the home, District Nursing and Nurse Prescriber. Sam is Head of Year of the Nurse and Midwife 2020 and Head of Insulin Administration Programme at NHS England and NHS Improvement, having spent a number of years in NHS England national team formerly as Head of Nursing and Midwifery Strategy within the Nursing Directorate and Head of Stakeholder and Cultural Transformation, Future Focused Finance within the Finance Directorate. Previously for eight years, Sam worked for the Northwest Strategic Health Authority, leading the delivery of the Department of Health Non-Medical Prescribing Programme across the region, then nationally for the Department of Health and internationally.

Sam holds a number of national roles, including member of Council National Association for Primary Care and co-chair of European committee Prescribing Research in Medicines Management (PRIMM). Sam is well-published and has won a number of awards, most notably ‘The Eileen Steele Memorial Award for Caring’. Sam holds a MSc Nursing (Cancer), a post graduate Leadership and Management qualification, is a Top Directors NHS Leadership Academy graduate and is ILM level 7 Exec coach and mentor. She is a founding Director of Health and Education Cooperative. She is a board member for Trafford Clinical Commissioning Group, Greater Manchester. Sam is CEO of her own healthcare business. She recently joined University of Surrey as an expert advisor to the national evaluation of independent prescribing by therapeutic radiographers and supplementary prescribing by dietitians. In her spare time Sam enjoys time with her young family.


Honorary Secretary:  Dr Simon White

Director of Postgraduate Education
Reader in Pharmacy Practice

Simon is a clinical pharmacist who has worked in academia since 2008. He is currently
Director of Postgraduate Education in the School of Pharmacy & Bioengineering at Keele
University and Reader in Pharmacy Practice. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society for Public
Health, a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and the current Chair of the Royal
Pharmaceutical Society’s Conference Practice Research Panel. He supervises PhD students,
DPharm students and undergraduate research project students, as well as teaching on
postgraduate and undergraduate programmes. His research interests are mainly around
medicines usage, especially polypharmacy, pharmacy practice, public health, health services research, and pharmacy education. He is a co-applicant on the PROMPPT project, which is a £2.4m National Institute for Health Research funded research programme to develop and test a clinical pharmacist-led intervention for proactive clinical review of patients taking opioid medicines long-term for persistent, non-cancer pain.



Treasurer: Margaret Bermingham
Administrator: Jo Stuttle


Elected Committee Members

Professor Nina L Barnett
Consultant Pharmacist,  Care of Older People
Pharmacy, Northwick Park Hospital

London North West Healthcare NHS Trust & NHS Specialist Pharmacy Service;
Honorary Reader, School of Pharmacy, University College London;
Visiting Professor Institute of Pharmaceutical Science Kings College London


Dr Sean MacBride-Stewart
Medicines Management Resources Lead, Prescribing and Pharmacy Support Unit,
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde. Sean supports the Lead Clinician Prescribing Services in the strategic development of medicines management in primary care to manage the £240mill GP practice prescribing budget in NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde.